OUI Massachusetts First Time Offense DUI Consequences Suspended License Boston Cambridge Lawyers Attorneys
DUI/OUI Massachusetts First Time Offense
Defending First Time Offenders
A first OUI/DUI charge is significantly different from second or subsequent offense of DUI/OUI in Massachusetts.
In Massachusetts, if you register at .08% or higher when tested for your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) and are over 21 years of age, you could be charged with Operating Under the Influence (OUI). In case you are less than 21 years of age, you can be charged with an OUI, if you register a BAC of .02%.
Under Massachusetts laws, punishments for DUI/OUI charge are highly prohibitive. If convicted for the first time of an OUI/DUI offense, you could face a maximum of 2½ years in jail, a $5,000 fine, and a suspension of your license at a RMV hearing. You could still be granted a Hardship License (used for school or work) if you meet certain criteria. However, you will be required to get high risk insurance and the flip side is that the cost of the high risk insurance is very high.
If you have been charged with an OUI/DUI in Massachusetts, it is very crucial to work through all the available options thoroughly, with an experienced Massachusetts OUI/DUI Defense attorney
Massachusetts OUI/DUI Defense Lawyer
A first time DUI/OUI defendant is some times given the option of utilizing a diversion program. This is referred to as an “alternative disposition” probation plea bargain (this is known as the 24D Program). Qualifying for this alternative disposition requires a first time DUI/OUI offender to enroll and complete a court-ordered drug and alcohol education program. While you are at this alternative disposition, your license will be suspended for 30 days. If you are under 21 years of age, then your license will be suspended for 210 days. Often people refuse to take the breathalyzer test. You may face additional penalties if you refused the breathalyzer test.
You are in deeper trouble facing more serious punishments if you are charged with a second or subsequent offense DUI/OUI offense in Massachusetts.
The Gilmore & SRIS, LLC. Massachusetts OUI lawyers have the necessary skill and experience to defend these cases as we have former prosecutors who have been on the other side prosecuting these charges.
If you are charged with DUI/OUI call a Gilmore & SRIS, LLC. Massachusetts DUI/OUI lawyer to discuss the facts of your case. We will provide you with the guidance and care necessary to help you minimize or possibly even have the DUI/OUI charge dismissed.
Contact a Gilmore & SRIS, LLC. Massachusetts DUI defense attorney today for help.
We have client meeting locations in Boston & Cambridge to better serve you.